The research team is comprised of clinicians experienced in gallbladder and general surgery, as well as experts in radiology (imaging).

This clinical expertise is complemented by the research expertise of an established Clinical Trials Unit, CTEU Bristol, alongside experts in study methods, study recruitment, statistics, health economics and outcome assessment. The research group has strong patient and public involvement, and excellent links with experts in the field within the UK and internationally.

The study is formally supported by the Association of Upper Gastrointestinal Surgeons of Great Britain and Ireland (AUGIS) and the Great Britain & Ireland Hepato Pancreato Biliary Association (GBIHPBA).

Some description

Professor Giles Toogood

Chief Investigator, Consultant Surgeon, Leeds Teaching Hospitals NHS Trust

giles.toogood@nhs.net

Some description

Professor Jane Blazeby

Professor of Surgery, Consultant Surgeon, University Hospitals Bristol NHS Foundation Trust

j.m.blazeby@bristol.ac.uk

Some description

Mr Ravinder Vohra

Consultant Surgeon, Nottingham University Hospitals NHS Trust

ravsvohra@hotmail.com

Some description

Mr Neil Jennings

Consultant Surgeon, City Hospitals Sunderland NHS Foundation Trust

neil.jennings@chsft.nhs.uk

Some description

Mr Ian Beckingham

Consultant Surgeon, Nottingham University Hospitals NHS Trust

ian.beckingham@mac.com

Some description

Mr Ewen Griffiths

Consultant Surgeon, University Hospitals Birmingham NHS Foundation Trust

Ewen.Griffiths@uhb.nhs.uk

 

Some description

Dr Ashley Guthrie

Consultant Clinical Radiologist, Leeds Teaching Hospitals NHS Trust

ashley.guthrie@nhs.net

Some description

Dr Raneem Albazaz

Consultant Radiologist, Leeds Teaching Hospitals NHS Trust

r.albazaz@nhs.net

Some description

Dr Marcus Jepson

Lecturer in Qualitative Health Science, Bristol Medical School, University of Bristol

marcus.jepson@bris.ac.uk

Some description

Dr Kerry Avery

Senior Research Fellow and PPI Lead, Bristol Medical School, University of Bristol

kerry.avery@bris.ac.uk

Some description

Professor William Hollingsworth

Professor of Health Economics, Bristol Medical School, University of Bristol

william.hollingworth@bristol.ac.uk

Some description

Miss Natalie Blencowe

Oral and Gastrointestinal Surgeon, University Hospitals Bristol NHS Foundation Trust

natalie.blencowe@bristol.ac.uk

 

Some description

Maddie Clout

Study Manager, Clinical Trials and Evaluation Unit, Bristol Trials Centre, Bristol

sunflower-study@bristol.ac.uk

Some description

Professor Chris Rogers

Co-Director of the Clinical Trials and Evaluation Unit, Bristol Trials Centre, Bristol

chris.rogers@bristol.ac.uk

Some description

Professor Barney Reeves

Co-Director of the Clinical Trials and Evaluation Unit, Bristol Trials Centre, Bristol

barney.reeves@bristol.ac.uk

Some description

Dr Lucy Culliford

Research Fellow, Clinical Trials and Evaluation Unit, Bristol Trials Centre, Bristol

lucy.culliford@bristol.ac.uk

 Some description  

Jane Collingwood

Senior Administrator, Clinical Trials and Evaluation Unit, Bristol Trials Centre, Bristol

jane.collingwood@bristol.ac.uk

 Some description  

Chloe Beard

Assistant Coordinator, Clinical Trials and Evaluation Unit, Bristol Trials Centre, Bristol

sunflower-study@bristol.ac.uk